Sweet Potato Burger and Whole Wheat Buns = Amazing!

Let me first say that I love bread. I especially love buns, they have a much larger crust to inside ratio then a slice of bread does, and I love that crusty slick browned part so very much. So, yes buns! Now, since going plant based, and focusing on whole foods I haven’t had white bread buns.

In my search for a good vegan recipe for making whole wheat buns I found Holy Cow! A Vegan Recipe Blog where Vaishali gives us an easy to make delicious Vegan Burger Bun recipe. Go here and make it! Note her recipe is not 100% whole wheat, there is 50% all purpose flour, I’m guessing this is to help give it a fluffy texture and it does! My ultimate goal is to only have whole grain flours, but since I can’t justify throwing away the other flours I already have, I plan to use them with whole grain flours until they are used up!

These are the buns Vaishali’s recipe gave me:

Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

Totally awesome! I did have to shorten the rising time for these buns. My kitchen hovered between 79 and 82 degrees F while I was making these beauties. So, while I followed the recipe exactly every other way, my rising times where cut in half. If you are in a hurry this is great, but from what I remember from basic bread making the rising time allows for flavors to build, the slower the rise the deeper the flavors, please correct me if I’m wrong! Even with the sped up rising times these buns were perfect! I will totally be making them again soon!

Now for the Sweet Potato Burgers. I read over a few recipes including this one from Hayley’s Thoughts then went my own way!

Sweet Potato & Rosemary Burgers

2 small to medium sweet potatoes (mine where each about 6 inches long and 3 inches thick)

1 can white beans, drained and rinsed

2 teaspoons dried rosemary, I ground mine using a mortar and pestle

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon rubbed sage

and a dash of garlic powder

Panko crumbs

I “baked” the sweet potatoes in the microwave then peeled and mashed them using a potato masher (novel idea, I know!). Then worked the rinsed white beans into the mixture, then simply tossed in the spices I wanted to use. You can choose any mixture of spices and herbs, the sky is the limit here!

I then used an ice cream scoop and portioned out 6 burgers, flattened them out in a bowl with a layer of Panko crumbs, flipping the burger over to coat both sides. Then I fried them in olive oil until both sides were crispy.

Sweet Potato Burger 3

Sweet Potato Burger 4

Sweet Potato Burger 5

We ate these Sweet Potato Rosemary Burgers on the Whole Wheat Buns above with some Whipped Nayonaise, romaine lettuce, tomato, and pickles. Very tasty! However, I now know, I am not a fan of Whipped Nayonaise. Which is not a surprise, since I also never liked Miracle Whip. Luckily Mendal and Miranda both liked it a lot so the jar won’t go to waste. Don’t worry my sandwiches won’t be dry, I do love mashed up avocado and hummus (flavored and plain) and stone ground mustard. I would also like to try Miso Mayo soon, since it is not a fake mayo (despite the name).

Sweet Potato Burger 2

Take a gander at this awesomeness! Seriously? How can a veggie burger be this pretty?


Sweet Potato Burger

WOW, I just realized that my first real post in a week ended up being a recipe review (the BUNS), an original recipe (the Burgers) and a product review (the Nayonaise)! Awesome!

3 comments

  1. Vaishali

    Your sweet potato burgers look delicious. Happy you liked the buns and yours look perfect. And you’re right–the all-purpose flour keeps the texture lighter.

  2. HotDish

    I am always looking for different ways to make veggie burgers, I am definitely going to have to try this one out. It looks and sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

