Madras Lentils on Potatoes with Steamed Green Beans

One of the few packaged meals we love happens to contain dairy, so once we run out I don’t plan to buy more. However, it must be said that Tasty Bite’s Madras Lentils taste great, and make a quick and easy work meal. We bought it at Costco after trying it at one of their taste testing demos. I love that I can grab it and run to work. Especially, when I can also grab a potato just as fast and “bake” it in the microwave at work. Recently, I also added steamed Green Beans to the mix and it was awesome! I felt like I was eating a real meal, something that took at least an hour to prepare, instead of only a few minutes.

Madras lentils on Potato

Madras Lentils on Potatoes with Steamed Green Beans
1 package Madras Lentils
2 medium/large potatoes (I used Red potatoes, but Russet or Golds would be great as well)
2 servings of Green Beans, I used Costco’s Organic frozen so grabbed two handfuls.
Garlic Salt (optional)
Scrub the potatoes under running warm water. Stab the poor defenseless potatoes with a fork in a few places then Microwave for 5 to 8 minutes, use the potato button on your Microwave if it has one. When you stab the potato with a fork and it slides in and out easily it is done.
Place the green beans in a glass bowl and add a about 1/4 cup of water and a dash of garlic salt, Microwave for 5 minutes or until they reach the level of tenderness you prefer.
Make the Madras Lentils per the package directions.
Then simply stack everything! I mashed up the potato and then poured on the Madras Lentils and topped everything with green beans.
This made enough for 2, so either share with a coworker or package the other serving up for the next work day. I am lucky enough to share work lunch with my partner every night, so 2 servings are perfect.
Leave a Reply

