Creamy Cashew Alfredo with Mushrooms and Sun-dried Tomatoes

I made two versions of this dish. One with Baby Portabella and Shitake Mushrooms and one with Sun-dried Tomatoes. The mushroom version was for my girlfriend and the sun-dried tomato dish was for me! I love the salty sweetness of sun-dried tomatoes, and while I do adore a good mushroom, my girl is obsessed with them! So I gave her extra earthy meaty goodness and went with the salty chewy goodness for myself.

Cashew Alfredo Mushroom

Cashew Alfredo Sundried Tomato

Cashew Alfredo
Adapted from Stephanie Fitch of Sweet Beau
Feeds 4

2 cups Alfredo Cream (see recipe here)
1 teaspoon minced garlic (I used jarred kind)
1 Tablespoon lemon juice (I used bottled!)
1 teaspoon kosher salt

Additions
1 cup Mushrooms: half Shitake, half Baby Portabellas or Cremini Mushrooms
1/4 cup Sun-dried Tomatoes

Pasta
I used an Organic 100% Whole Wheat Spaghetti because I had it on hand, any pasta will do!

Mix all ingredients together in medium sauce pan on medium heat. I used a whisk to stir it occasionally. Once it starts to bubble turn the heat down to medium low and cook for about 10 minutes. For a more traditional Alfredo add a bit of freshly grated nutmeg!

For the mushrooms I sliced them length wise and cooked them without oil in a medium cast iron pan on medium heat for about 4 minutes per side.

For the Sun-dried tomatoes I used Trader Joe’s brand which are already julienne cut. I gave them a rough chop to make them smaller pieces and added them to the same pan I cooked the mushrooms in. Ideally I would have added them directly to the Cashew Alfredo as it cooked, but the other human in our cat house doesn’t care for sun-dried tomato goodness.

This Alfredo would also be fantastic with both sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms mixed!

The best thing about this dish, aside from the taste, is that there is no added fat, it only contains the natural fat found in the cashews, you can see that info here. It is the first time in my life that eating Alfredo didn’t leave me feeling greasy!

Just gaze at this beautiful creamy sauce…

Cashew Alfredo Fork 2

Cashew Alfredo Fork
3 comments

    • inthecathouse

      I have no doubts you will love this. Long before I gave up dairy I couldn’t order Alfredo due to Lactose Intolerance. The few times I indulged anyway I always regretted it. With this Cashew Alfredo I can eat all I want. Not only is it far healthier than dairy based, but it also tastes fantastic! Let me know how you like it, and you should go by the original recipe blog and see what I changed http://sweet-beau.blogspot.com/2012/02/cashew-alfredo.html

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Sundried Tomato Alfredo | sheloveshealthyliving

Leave a Reply

