Two Vegan Chocolate Frostings

The cupcakes seen in this post are my go to chocolate cake recipe that happens to be vegan. Read about it here!

Recipe #1

I threw this together in 1 minutes and 30 seconds. I call this Not-Ganache because all of the past recipes I have used call for heavy cream, I thought of adding almond milk, but decided to just go with this:

Vegan Chocolate Not-Ganache

1 cup Dark or semi sweet vegan Chocolate Chips (Ghirardelli, semi sweet is naturally vegan)

1 Tablespoon Coconut oil (I use refined because I’m not a fan of coconut flavor in everything)

1 Tablespoon Karo Light Corn Syrup (optional, I buy Karo brand because it contains NO High Fructose corn syrup, read about it here)

Throw all the ingredients into a microwave safe glass bowl, heat in 30 second intervals stirring between them. 1 minute was enough for my microwave to melt everything, yours could take longer. Be careful as it is easy to burn or scorch chocolate in a microwave. To lower your risk of ruining the chocolate you can melt it in a double boiler.

I smoothed on a relatively thin layer on slightly warm cupcakes. If you want a thicker layer allow the cupcakes to cool completely and the not-ganache to come to room temperature.

Image

Recipe #2

I made this Fluffy Vegan Chocolate Frosting on the fly! It may be tweaked in the future. I’m not sure how well it would pipe, but I will try this with my next attempt!

Fluffy Vegan Chocolate Frosting

1 cup Dark or Semi Sweet vegan Chocolate Chips (Ghirardelli, semi sweet is naturally vegan)

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted (I use refined)

1/2 cup granulated organic sugar (you can use raw sugar or evaporated cane juice as well)

Cream from 1 can Coconut Milk, place can in the fridge for about 1 1/2 hours, DO NOT SHAKE, Spoon out the thick cream on top, do not add the liquid at the bottom

Combine melted oil and sugar so the sugar can start melting. Add the chocolate chips and heat in the microwave for 30 seconds. Stir, if not completely melted heat for 15 seconds at a time stirring between each interval until completely melted. There may be some granulated sugar grit still present, that’s okay. When chocolate mixture is cooled but still slightly warm move to the bowl of a stand mixer. Add the coconut cream and start beating and . The coconut cream will melt into the chocolate mixture, keep beating until mixture all comes  together and starts getting fluffy. It took about 5 minutes on 6-8 with my Kitchen Aid. Your frosting should be smooth, light, fluffy and chocolaty! Please be aware that this frosting can be quite melty if in temperatures above 78-80.

Note: if the chocolate mixture is too cool, the coconut cream will not melt and its coldness will actually cause the chocolate and coconut oil to harden. To solve this either set the mixer bowl in a warm oven for a few minutes or allow mixture to reach room temp and keep beating. This is why this frosting is a work in progress!!!

Image

To Decorate these cupcakes I added my Fairy Dust mix of sprinkles on top. This mix was invented one Christmas when I was decorating dozens and dozens of sugar cookies and got sloppy with my sugars and sprinkles. My decorating plates where covered in tons of different colors and I thought it was so pretty that I kept it. Now whenever I use sanding sugars and sprinkles, I added the spilled leftovers to my Fairy Dust mix! The part I love is that no two cupcakes are the same…it also looks great on cookies!

Here’s a close up:

Image

One comment

  1. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes 2 ways | In the Cathouse

Leave a Reply

