H is for Hummus

Hummus is a great healthy snack, it is also a fantastic replacement for mayo on sandwiches and other fatty non vegan spreads and dips. I have been experimenting with different recipes lately. I while ago I made one far to garlicky when following a recipe. Then I made a very simple one with only water added which was great on sandwiches, but blah when eating it with carrot sticks. So today I made up a new recipe, but first I tried a new step. Peeling the chickpeas. Yes, I said peeling. It is actually very easy to squeeze the thin skin off, it is simply a bit time consuming. The reason for this madness, is to make a super, silky, smooth hummus.

Now, I learned about this trick from Deb of Smitten Kitchen. She is a master of delicious, hearty, home cooked food that looks like it came from a 5 Star restaurant. She is not vegetarian nor vegan, but she has her fair share of recipes that fit both categories on her lovely blog. She also has a lot of yummy baked goods, that is actually how I found Smitten Kitchen over 3 years ago.

Which it totally did! Look at this mess , I mean amazingness.

Hummus 5

Hummus without Tahini 

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas or 2 cups, drained, rinsed and peeled

1/2 cup water

2 teaspoon lemon juice (used ReaLemon)

1 teaspoon sesame oil (Optional: I added this because I didn’t have Tahini)

1 clove garlic or 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

Drain, rinse and peel those chickpeas!

Hummus

Then add all ingredients to a food processor. You can also make this in a blender, but may need to add more water.

Hummus 3

If you like thicker hummus use a food processor and only add 1/4 cup water. I like the hummus I use on sandwiches to be a little runnier or looser than the hummus I use for dipping veggies.

If you have found this post, please post your favorite hummus recipes and chickpea cooking methods. This recipe used the last can of chickpeas I plan to buy!

Leave a Reply

