Great Balls of Salad!

Ball Jars that is. Pint and a Half Ball Jars to be specific.

I love salads. I especially love Romaine based salads. I find it a very versatile lettuce, it has a great crunch and light flavor that allows it to go from an Asian flavored salad, to a Taco salad, to an Italian salad. I also love how easy it is to grow more of it’s leafy goodness. We have joined the bandwagon and started keeping our salad greens in jars. We found these awesome wide mouth pint and a half Ball jars at Ace Hardware. I love that they hold the perfect amount for a single serving salad, and have a slim profile that makes it easy to throw the jar into a work bag or lunch box.

Romaine in Jars inthecathouse

We buy Romaine hearts at Costco, 6 for under $5. Unfortunately, I don’t believe they are organic, I plan to try growing Romaine in our vegetable box this year. I cut each heart up, reserving a few outer flat leaves from each to use on sandwiches and wash the lettuce twice. Once in cold water and once in cold water with white vinegar added. I find the vinegar helps keep the lettuce (and a ton of other produce) from going bad too fast. I once had fresh raspberries, washed in water with vinegar, last for 8 days in the fridge with no mold forming, they were still firm and fresh tasting!

There are so many ways to make a salad. You can throw in nuts, beans, carrots, peppers, olives, fruits and croutons. . .of course if you are an omnivore you can add bacon, chicken, or cheese. . .but we don’t like those things in our house. Dressings can be kept simple like balsamic vinegar and olive oil, or can be fancy like Braswell’s all natural Valdelia Onion and Peppercorn Dressing, which I found at Marshall’s last week, yummy! The trick to dressings is moderation. Sometimes we forgo dressings altogether and use homemade salsa instead. I have plans to make more dressings from scratch.

Lately I have been eating a lot of salads with brown rice, tomatoes, beans (red and black), and corn. But, alas, I didn’t snap any pictures. . .

Since, I don’t have any pictures of salads to use in this post, here are a few delicious looking salads I have pinned and plan to try soon:

Vegan Salad-In-A-Jar makes a healthy and portable lunch

  Ann Arbor Vegan Kitchen’s Vegan Salad-in-jar

Mango Black bean salad....not sure about the cucumbers...

FatFree Vegan Kitchen’s Layered Salad with Black Beans and Mango-Cucumber Salsa

Mexican Spinach Vegan Salad

Style & Grace’s Mexican Spinach Salad

Abundant Garden Salad w/ Sweet Ginger Tahini Dressing - http://www.youngandraw.com/abundant-garden-salad-w-sweet-ginger-tahini-dressing/ #raw #vegan #salad #dressing #recipe

Young and Raw’s Abundant Garden Salad with Sweet Ginger Tahini Dressing

I especially want to try Young and Raw’s Sweet Ginger Tahini Dressing. It sounds awesome.

For the readers out there: What do you like on your salad? What is your favorite dressing, do you make your own?

Leave a Reply

