The Liebster Award!

A few days ago I was nominated for the Liebster Award! It is an award for up and coming blogs, or newbie blogs. There is no actual winner of the award, only us nominees. The ward serves to help more people find new blogs and to help inspire and incourage us new bloggers! I was nominated by The Great Zambini, she has an awesome blog, with fun fashion, sewing and diy projects. The nomination was completely a surprise and an honor! There are a few Liebster Award pics floating around and once nominated you can put one up on your blog under “awards”. This nomination also comes with some responsibilities. I have to nominate 11 other bloggers, who are new with less than 200 followers. Now I’m so new to blogging that I have no idea how to find out the number of followers a blogger has. So, I’m simply going to choose bloggers I like who started some time in the last year. I hope this is ok!

I also have to answer 11 questions given to me by The Great Zambini and then create 11 questions for my nominees to answer on their blogs.

Here are my answers!

11 Questions:

1 What is your favorite sport? Reading, I’m not into sports of the traditional type.

2 What do you do as a hobby, besides what your blog is about? My blog is about my hobbies, well it started because of changing my vegetarian diet to a plants based diet, but cooking is one of my favorite hobbies! I plan to blog about all of my hobbies: Crafting, jewelry making, gardening, reading, cooking and baking.

3 How do you make friends? By talking to anyone and everyone I meet and discovering things we have in common. . .could be why I don’t have the biggest circle of friends, though the once I have are amazing people!

4 Do you prefer animals, or people? Oh tough one. There are days when I prefer the company of my cats and fish, but for the most part I like to be with my partner Mendal as much as possible she is my favorite person. Though we joke that she is part cat so maybe she doesn’t count as people?

5 Who is the/one of the most important person (friend, significant other, etc?) in your life? Mendal! Easy one, she is my girlfriend, my partner, the love of my life and the future mother of my child(ren).

6 What’s your favorite genre for movies? Scifi and action, but due to Mendal’s influence I have also started to appreciate comedies as well.

7 How do you channel your creative outlet? (Besides blogging!) My two favorite places to create are at the jewelry table or in the kitchen. I love when you can take bits and pieces of metal and beads and create something beautiful. Just like you can take random ingredients and throw them together to make something delicious. Its all about the process for me!

8 What’s your favorite kind of food? Tied between Italian and Mexican typically. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with an Indian flavor profile: Coconut Curry.

9 What’s your favorite kind of post to make (Yes, this one is about your blog. Cause I didn’t want it to feel excluded :D)? I love writing about things I make with Mendal. It’s fun to celebrate our working together to create something solely ours. It doesn’t matter if it’s food or crafts, just something I make with Mendal like these Kitchen Storage Jars

10 What is your most recent obsession? Coconut Curry, Seriously a local store called Popcorn Fanatic makes coconut curry flavored popcorn and it is awesome!

11 Left handed or right handed? I’m right handed, so is Mendal.

So, there you have it 11 answered questions!

Now for my 11 nominees (or 10 until I can find a one more) for the Liebster Award:

1. Scoop du Jour

2. Vegan Flavorista

3. Mostly Vegan Fun

4. This is Waf

5. Indianity – Admire India, Admire Indianity

6. Miranda’s Kitchen Adventure

7. The Dorset Finca

8. Alina- creating with my hands

9. Of Course Vegan

10. Polish Vegetarian

11. pending

And here are my questions for those I have nominated:

1. What color are your eyes?

2. What is you go to comfort food/dish?

3. What is your guilty pleasure snack/dessert?

4. How many hours a week do you spend working on your blog?

5. Do you tell your friends and family about your blog or is it just for you?

6. What is your favorite creative outlet?

7. Have you read any good books lately?

8. What is your favorite TV Show?

9. What movie playing now or later this summer are you dying to see?

10. Are you a cat or dog person? Or perhaps fish or iguana person?

11. Are you the 1920’s bungalow with a yard and a picket fence type, or the modern condo or loft type?

There you have it! I can’t wait to see what all of you awesome bloggers have to say. Good luck everyone, you are all very talented!

3 comments

    • inthecathouse

      I didn’t know what this award is either, but it seems legit. You answer the questions on your blog and propose new (its okay to reuse some questions if you want) questions for the 11 bloggers you nominate. It is a bit like a chain letter (without the “bad things” happening if you stop it), but I believe the main point is to drive traffic to new blogs. It also creates contact among bloggers!

Leave a Reply

