Coconut Curry Tempeh

Coconut Curry Tempeh

I have recently been obsessed with Popcorn Fanatic‘s Coconut Curry Popcorn. First let me say this…I hate popcorn, seriously I get nauseated at movie theaters because of the smell of freshly popped popcorn. I also detest the smell of microwave popcorn at home. My three younger sisters and Mendal all love popcorn. I first went to Popcorn Fanatic dragging my heals complaining about the smell. This place is a locally owned shop that specializes in a bazillion flavors of popcorn, they also have fudge, truffles and specialty cakes, but popcorn is their main focus. I remember as a child loving that nasty orange hot cheese popcorn you could only find in gas stations. So, I tried Popcorn Fanatics hot cheese. . .wasn’t as good as I remembered, theirs was much too cheesy, then I tried their buffalo wing and that was it! That hot cheese popcorn I loved as a kid must not have contained much cheese!

Needless to say, I was hooked. Then one day when buying Mendal her Chicago Mix (cheese and caramel popcorn) and my buffalo wing, I saw a new flavor that sounded interesting. Coconut Curry. I tried it and then purchased a bag, it almost didn’t make it home! So, short story longer, I have been hooked on coconut curry and have pinned a recipe for vegan coconut curry from The Kind Life (if you haven’t read it yet Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet is awesome).

Now to the point of this post: While grocery shopping at my local Harris Teeter I stumbled upon Turtle Island Foods Tempeh Coconut Curry flavored. If you have not yet tried this Tempeh, or any of the other flavors, you need to! I baked some at work, since I don’t have access to a stove, and chopped up 3 pieces and threw it on top some brown rice, drizzled with Kimmon Organic Soy Sauce. Then I grabbed two of my cut up carrots I brought as a raw snack sliced them up added some water and microwaved them for 2 minutes, I drained them and threw them in with the rice and tempeh. It was so good and easy for a quick lunch at work. Would be easier to have all the parts prepared at home, but some of the best tasting lunches come together on the fly! I so want to make my own homemade coconut curry tempeh. . .possible future post? Maybe. . .no promises!

Coconut Curry Tempeh 2

Leave a Reply

